
Boost Ohio’s Kids
Ohio’s child passenger law changed in 2009 to 
better protect children on Ohio’s roadways. The 
change requires that children under 8 years old must 
be properly restrained in a booster seat or other 
appropriate car seat unless they are 4’9” or taller.  
Be sure to follow your seat manufacturer’s specific 
instructions for weight limits and proper use. 

Ohio’s Kids Need 
Booster Seats 
Because: 
 
•	 Safety belts are not 

designed for children 
under 4’9.”  

•	 Beginning at age 4, many 
children are too large for 
car seats and too small for 
adult seat belts.  

•	 Booster seats raise your 
child up so that the safety 
belt fits properly:  

o	Shoulder belts should 
cross the chest, not the 
neck. 

o	Lap belts should rest on 
the hip or pelvis, never on 
the stomach.

Growth chart downloaded from 
http://www.nhtsa.gov/Safety/CPS

Cover photo downloaded from
http://www.thatcuteage.com

Booster Seat Choices

•	 Backless Boosters: May be used as long as 
a child has head and neck support from the 
vehicle’s seat back. 

•	 Highback Boosters: May be used as long as 
child’s ears are not above the booster back.  

•	 All booster seats must be used with a lap and 
shoulder belt. 

Four Steps to Safety: 

Using a booster seat is only one part of 
protecting your children as they ride with you 
through the years. 

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and 
the National Highway Transportation Safety 
Administration recommend parents use the 
following four steps to keep their children safe.  

Step 1	– Rear Facing Car Seat 
– placed in the back seat 
The AAP recommends that 
children ride in a rear-facing 
seat until they reach the 
upper height and weight 
limits of their seat or until 
they’re 2 years old. Riding rear facing is safest for 
infants and toddlers!  Ohio law requires that young 
children be properly restrained in a car seat.

Step 2	– Forward Facing Car Seat 
– placed in the back seat 
Once children outgrow 
their rear-facing seat, Ohio 
law requires that children 
less than 4 years old and 
40 pounds be properly 
secured in a car seat. It is best for children to 
remain in a forward-facing car seat with an 
internal harness until they reach the upper 
height and weight limit for their car seat.
 
Step 3	– Booster Seat  
– placed in the back seat 
Once children reach the 
upper limit of their forward-
facing car seat, Ohio law 
requires that children ride in a booster seat until 
they are at least 4’9” tall or 8 years old. They can 
move to a seat belt when the lap belt lies across 
the upper thighs and the shoulder belt fits 
across the chest (usually between 8-12 years of 
age or when they are 4’9” tall).

Step 4 – Adult Seat Belt  
– in the back seat until 
they’re at least 13 years old
Children who have 
outgrown their booster 
seats should ride in the 
back seat until they’re at least 13 years old. Ohio 
law requires children aged 8-15 years, who are 
not secured in a car seat or booster seat, to be 
secured by the vehicle seat belt.  Of course, the 
safest thing is for all passengers over 8 years of 
age to wear their seat belt on every ride!   

All children under 13 should be 
properly restrained in the back seat 
in the appropriate restraint for their 
age and size. 

When children outgrow their booster 
seats they can use the adult seat belt in 
the back seat, if it fits properly (lap belt 
lays across the upper thighs and the 
shoulder belt fits across the chest). 

A child using a seat belt should be able to sit 
all the way back against the vehicle seat back 
with knees bent comfortably over the edge of 
the seat.

Make sure children get to the school bus stop 
on time, wait five giant steps away from the 

road and avoid rough play. 
Teach children to always 
ask the driver for help if 
they drop something near 
the bus.  Remind children 

to only cross in front of the 
school bus when the driver tells them it is 

safe to cross and to always look for traffic as 
they cross the street.

Parents often think children are 
able to cross the street by 

themselves before they 
are ready. Children 
usually don’t have 

such skills until 
at least age 10.

Once children outgrow their 
forward-facing seats, they should 
ride in booster seats, in the back seat, 
until the vehicle seat belts fit properly. 
Seat belts fit properly when the lap 
belt lays across the upper thighs 
and the shoulder belt fits across the 
chest.

Bicycle riders should 
always wear 

helmets. Make 
sure the helmet 
fits low on the 
forehead so 

that only two fingers 
fit between it and the 
eyebrows.

When children outgrow 
their rear-facing seats they 
should ride in forward-
facing child safety seats, 
in the back seat, until they 
reach the upper weight or 
height limit of the particular 
seat.

Before crossing the street, parents 
and children should stop and look 
left–right–left to see if 
any cars are coming. 
Wait until all cars 
have passed and 
then quickly cross, 
looking both ways as 
you do so.

For the best possible  protection, 
keep infants in the back seat, in 
rear-facing child safety seats, 
as long as possible up to the 
height or weight limit of 
the  particular seat. 

An infant in a rear-facing 
child safety seat must 
never ride in the front seat 
of a vehicle with an active 
passenger air bag.

Visit the NHTSA Web site at www.
nhtsa.gov for more information 
about seat belts; child safety seats; 
and pedestrian, bicycle, and school 
bus safety.
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Children should ride rear 
facing until they’re two 
years old.

 

To stay safe, children 
should stay in their car 
seats as long as possible.

 

Booster seats should 
always be used with a lap 
and shoulder belt.

 

Children should ride in the 
backseat until they’re 13 
years old.

Adult Seat Belts

Your child is ready for an adult seat belt if all the 
following apply: 
 
•	 The child is tall enough to sit against the 

vehicle seat back with his-her knees bent at 
the edge of the seat without slouching. 
 

•	 The shoulder belt lies in the middle of his/her 
chest and shoulder, not his/her neck or throat.  

•	 The lap belt is low and snug across the upper 
thighs, not the belly. 
 

•	 The child can stay in this position comfortably 
throughout the entire trip.

Questions? 
Call 1-800-755-GROW (4769) for 
information on a Child Passenger Safety 
Program near you.
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