If you or your family members are innocent victims of a violent crime, financial assistance may be available. The following is a list of guidelines to help you determine whether you might be eligible for a payment. For specific questions, call the Attorney General's Office at 800-582-2877. Applications and supplemental applications can be mailed to:
30 E. Broad St., 23rd Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Crime Victims Compensation Guidelines
Who may be eligible to receive a payment:
- Victims injured as result of violent crime.
- Dependents of homicide victims.
- Claimants responsible for crime victims' expenses, such as parents or guardians.
Who may not be eligible to receive a payment:
- Offenders or accomplices of offenders.
- Victims who have a felony conviction, or a child endangering or domestic violence conviction, within 10 years prior to the crime or while the claim is pending; or anyone who engaged in a felony offense of violence or felony drug trafficking, within 10 years prior to the crime or while the claim is pending; or anyone who, at the time of the crime, engaged in felony drug possession.
- Victims whose crimes are not reported to law enforcement.
- Victims who do not fully cooperate with law enforcement.
- Victims who committed criminal or tortious acts that contributed to their injuries.
Payments can cover:
- Medical and related expenses.
- Counseling for immediate family members of victims of homicide, sexual assault, or domestic violence.
- Wages lost because of the crime.
- Crime scene cleanup for personal security, such as doors and windows.
- The cost to replace items taken as evidence.
- The cost to replace items of clothing damaged as a result of medical treatment or assessment.
- Payment for hearing aids, eyeglasses or other vision aids, dental appliances, teeth or other dental aids, canes, walkers, wheelchairs, and other mobility equipment.
- Lost wages and travel expenses for family members of a deceased victim to attend court proceedings.
- Financial support for dependents of a deceased victim.
- Funeral and burial expenses.
The maximum total payments are limited to $50,000, and several expenses have caps. Payments cannot be made for pain and suffering or for stolen, damaged, or lost property.
The Attorney General's Office will not pay victims for expenses that can be covered by any other available sources, such as insurance.
Changes to the compensation program:
- An adult or minor victim can file anytime after the crime has occurred.
- The 72 hours reporting requirement has been removed. Victim must still report and cooperate with law enforcement.
- The program now compensates for items of clothing damaged as a result of medical treatment or assessment.
- The program will also compensate for hearing aids, eyeglasses or other vision aids, dental appliances, teeth or other dental aids, canes, walkers, wheelchairs, and other mobility equipment.
- Attorney fees for civil protection orders' hourly rate for legal work went up from $60.00 per hour to $100.00. The maximum amount for attorney fees per claim was changed to $1,000.00.
- Reasonable travel time to attend hearings is limited to 3 hours round trip for each hearing at $30.00 per hour.
- The cap on individual attorneys or law firms was eliminated.
- A supplemental application may be filed within six years of the last decision of the Attorney General, an Ohio Court of Claims panel commissioners, or a Court of Claims judge.