Minimum wage law
"Employer" is any governmental entity, business association, or person or group of persons acting in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.
"Employee" is any individual employed by an employer, but does not included individuals employed:
- Any individual employed by the United States.
- Any individual who volunteers to perform services for a state, political subdivision of a state, or interstate governmental agency if certain conditions apply.
- An individual who volunteers their services solely for humanitarian purposes to private nonprofit food banks.
- Employees with mental or physical disabilities that may adversely affect the employees’ opportunities for employment.
- Employees under the age of 16.
- Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members of the owner.
- Individuals employed in or about the property of the employer or person’s residence on a casual basis.
"Wage" is compensation due to an employee by reason of his employment, payable in legal tender or check on banks convertible to cash, including direct deposit. Wages also include the reasonable cost to employers for furnishing to an employee board, lodging, or other facilities, if customarily furnished.
"Overtime" shall be paid at one and one-half the employee's wage rate for hours worked over 40 in a pre-established work week, consisting of not more than seven consecutive days.
"Pay Period" employees are entitled to wages no less than on or before the 15th and 30th of each month.
- Minimum Wage Rate
- All Employers: Non-tipped employees $8.55; tipped employees $4.30
- All Employers over $150,000.00 will pay overtime at one and one-half the employee's hourly rate after 40 actual working hours
- Employers who gross less than $150,000.00 no overtime required for hours over 40
Information on this site is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed.
The State of Ohio disclaims any liability for any errors or omissions.
Handicapped minimum wage law
In an effort to open employment doors for disabled individuals and to safeguard the Ohio minimum wage laws, the Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce (ODOC) may permit individuals whose earning capacity is impaired by physical or mental deficiencies or injuries to work for lower than the applicable minimum wages.
This is done by means of obtaining one of the following types of licenses:
- Work Activity Center Program
- Sheltered Workshop Program
- On-The-Job Training Temporary Individual
- Individual Regular Business or Industry (Sheltered Workshop Program / Individual Regular Business or Industry / Individual Community Rehabilitation Program )
- Individual Program Rate in a Facility
The Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce, pursuant to section 4111.06, may authorize a special license for payment of less than the applicable minimum wage rate at wages which are commensurate with those paid non-disabled workers for the same type, quality, and quantity of work performed.
Applications for licenses must be returned to:
Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Industrial Compliance
Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration
6606 Tussing Rd.
PO Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009
Phone: (614) 644-2239
There is a great untapped reservoir of people in our state — people who can work and want jobs. Physically and mentally disabled individuals have much to offer Ohio employers.
The above is a summary of Section 4111.06. This summary does not include all of the requirements to obtain a handicapped license. Individuals should refer to Chapter 4111 for the specific requirements applicable to them for a particular type of license or contact the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance, Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration. Information on this site is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed. The State of Ohio disclaims any liability for any errors or omissions.
There is no cost in having a valid complaint investigated by the Bureau of Wage and Hour Administration. Please be advised, we cannot provide legal advice or act as your attorney. Also, please note, this office is only able to pursue minimum wage for the hours that are found to be unpaid. You also have the option of pursing your complaint privately or you may wish to contact an attorney. However, you cannot pursue your complaint through both processes at the same time.
After reviewing the guidelines below, if you believe that your situation falls within our investigatory limitations, you may file a complaint with our office.
The Bureau of Wage and Hour Administration investigates complaints involving the following:
- Minimum wage not being paid,
- Overtime not being paid,
- Unauthorized deductions, and
- Last paychecks being held.
We cannot collect wages owed for the any of the following reasons:
- Vacation pay,
- Sick leave,
- Holidays, or
- Other employment benefits promised to you.
In addition, we cannot investigate a complaint if you believe you were improperly terminated or if your employer did not properly withhold taxes, social security, etc.